S.D. OUTDOORS ORGANIZATIONS

 Outdoors Opportunities and Activities

– SD Natural History Museum Canyoneers provide many hiking opportunities each month. Click link below then Calendar and Canyoneers Calendar.- Walkabout has lots of hikes & walks of different levels through urban and regional areas. Click link below.
– Many of the outdoors groups noted below regularly sponsor docent-led hikes.
– Many groups are making major additions to our San Diego open spaces. Visit their websites for info and to become an Outdoors supporter-contributor.

A quick alert to be careful about heading out on our trails as it’s not  like walking around the block. Wear good walking shoes for good grip, be careful to not stumble (a walking stick is often a good aid, especially when up and down hill hikes), be  prepared for the heat, and go with knowledgeable leaders in the back country. Finally, understand that Tom Leech has no liability for troubles on the trails.

Outdoors Links – Local organizations (partial list)

Agua Hedionda Lagoon Foundation – www.aguahedionda.org, Carlsbad
Anza-Borrego Foundation & Institute – www.theabf.org, Borrego Springs
Anza-Borrego Desert Natural History Association – abdnha.org, Borrego Springs
Aquatic Adventures – http://www.aquaticadventures.org, San Diego**
Back Country Land Trust –  http://www.bclt.org
Balboa Park, Friends of –  http://friendsofbalboapark.org
Bataquitos Lagoon Foundation – www.batiquitosfoundation.org/newsite/index.php, Carlsbad
Blue Sky, Friends of http://http://blueskyreserve.org
Buena Vista Audubon – http://www.bvaudubon.org, Oceanside
Cabrillo National Monument – www.nps.gov/cabr/
California Center for Sustainable Energy – http://www.engerycenter.org, San Diego
California Chaparral Field Institute, http://www.californiachaparral.com, Escondido
California Native Plant Society – www.cnpssd.org
California State Parks – www.parks.ca.gov
Center for Biological Diversity, http://www.biologicaldiversity.org
Circulate San Diego – http://www.circulatesd.org
Citizens’ Coordinate for Century 3, www.c3sandiego.org, San Diego
Cleveland National Forest – www.fs/usda.gov/cleveland
Community Campership Council – www.kidstocamp.org
Chula Vista Nature Center – www.livingcoastdiscoverycenter.org/
Crestridge Ecological Reserve – Crest. http://www.earthdiscovery.org/crestridge-ecological-reserve
Cuyamaca Rancho Foundation http://www.cuyamacafoundation.org/
Daley Ranch – http://www.escondido.org/daley-ranch.aspx
Desert Protective Council – http://www.dpcinc.org, San Diego
Ecological Life Systems Institute – http://www.elsi.org, San Diego*
Elfin Forest – www.olivenhain.com/index
Endangered Habitats Conservancy – http://www.ehleague.org/EndangeredHabitatsConservancy.html
Endangered Habitats League – http://www.ehleague.org
Escondido Creek Conservancy, The (TECC) – www. escondidocreek.org, Escondido
Friends of Daley Ranch – http://www.fodr.org, Escondido
Friends of Famosa Slough – http://www.famosaslough.org, San Diego
Friends of Los Penasquitos Canyon Preserve – http://www.penasquitos.org, Escondido
Friends of Rose Canyon – http://www.rosecanyon.org, San Diego
Friends of Wilderness Gardens Preserve – http://groups.yahoo.com/group/FriendsofWildernessGardensPreserve, Escondido
Goodan Ranch Friends – www.goodanranch.org
I love a Clean San Diego – www.cleansd.org, San Diego
Laguna Mountain Volunteers Association – www.lmva.org
Lakeside River Park Conservancy – www.LakesideRiverPark.org/, Lakeside
Los Penasquitos County Park – www.penasquitos.org
Los Penasquitos Canyon Preserve, Friends of, www.penasquitos.org, San Diego
Mission Trails Regional Park –  www.mtrp.org
Mom to Madre – www.momtomadre.org
Move San Diego – http://www.movesandiego.org, San Diego
National Wildlife Federation, http://www.nwf.org, San Diego*
Native American Lands Conservancy – http://www.nalc4all.org, La Mesa
Nature Conservancy, The – http://www.tnc.org, San Diego**
Pacific Crest Trail Association – www.pcta.org
Palomar Audubon – http://www.palomaraudubon.org, Escondido
Preserve Calavers – http://preservcalavera.org
Preserve Wild Santee, www.PreserveWildSantee.org, Santee
Quail Botanical Gardens – http://www.qbgardens.com, Encinitas
Ramona Trails Association – ramonatrails.org
Rose Canyon, Friends of, www.rosecanyon.org, San Diego
Ruffin Canyon, Friends of – http://groups.yahoo.com/group/friendsofruffincanyon/
Otay Valley  Regional Park Friends – www.ovrp.org
San Diego Audubon Society – www.sandiegoaudubon.org, San Diego**
San Diego Canyonlands-  www.sdcanyonlands.org/, San Diego
San Diego Children & Nature Collaborative (SDCaN) – http://www.sdchildrenandnature.org, San Diego County+
San Diego City Parks department – www.sandiego.gov/park-and-recreation/
San Diego Coastkeeper – www.sdcoastkeeper.org, San Diego*
San Diego Coastwalk – http://www.coastwalk.org
San Diego Conservation Resources Network – http://www.sdcrn.org, San Diego
San Diego County Parks- www.sandiego.gov/park-and-recreation/
San Diego Earthworks – http://www.earthdayweb.org, San Diego
San Diego Habitats Conservancy – http://www.sdhabitat.org, La Mesa
San Diego Hiking Club – sandiegohikingclub.org
San Diego Natural History Museum – http://www.sdnhm.org, San Diego
San Diego Natural History Museum Canyoneers – http://sdnhm.org/education/naturalists-of-all-ages/canyoneer-hikes/
San Diego River Park Foundation – www.sandiegoriver.org, San Diego*+
San Diego Stream Team – http://www.sdstreamteam.org, San Diego
San Diego Tracking Team – http://www.sdtt.org, San Diego+
San Dieguito River Park Foundation- www.sandieguitoriver.org
San Dieguito River Park – www.sdrp.org
San Dieguito River Valley Conservancy – www.sdrvc.org/, Del Mar
San Elijo Lagoon Conservancy, www.sanelijo.org, Encinitas
Sierra Club, San Diego Chapter – http://www.sandiego.sierraclub.org/chapters/sandiego.org, San Diego
Solana Center for Environmental Innovation – http://www.solanacenter.org, Encinitas*
Southern California Wetlands Recovery Project – http://www.scwrp.org
Southwest Consortium for Environmental Research & Policy (SCERP) – http://www.scerp.org, SDSU San Diego
Southwest Wetlands Interpretive Association (SWIA) – http://www.swia4earth.org, Imperial Beach
Sun Strides Foundation – http://www.SunStrides.org, San Diego
Surfrider – http://www.surfridersd.org, San Diego County
U.S. Federal National reserves (NWRs) – www.sandiegorefuges.fws.org
Tijuana River National Estuarine Research Reserve, www.tijuanaestuary.org, Imperial Beach
Torrey Pines State Reserve/Association – www.torreypines.org
Volcan Mountain Preserve Foundation, www.volcanmt.org, Julian
Walkabout International
 – www.walkabout-int.org
Walk San Diego – www.walksandiego.org
Water Conservation Garden at Cuyamaca College – www.thegarden.org, El Cajon*
Wildcoast/CostaSalvage – http://www.wildcoast.net/www.costasalvage.com, Imperial Beach
Wilderness4All – http://www.wilderness4all.org, San Diego
Wilderness Gardens Preserve, Friends of, http://groups.yahoo.com/group/FriendsofWildernessGardensPreserve, Escondido

Outdoors Links – National non-profit organizations for helping set-aside valuable preserves, parks, and open spaces (with major contributions to San Diego area)

The Nature Conservancy – www.nature.org
Trust for Public Land –  www.tpl.org

Advertisements